South America

South America is a continent in the Western Hemisphere, mostly in the Southern Hemisphere, with a relatively small portion in the Northern Hemisphere.

It may also be considered a subcontinent of the Americas, which is how it is viewed in the Spanish and Portuguese-speaking regions of the Americas.

South America  has 12 Countries.

Interesting Facts about South America


South America was discovered by the Italian explorer Amerigo Vespucci, and at the end of the 15th century and the start of the 16th century, he spent a long time exploring the eastern coast of the continent.


Religion is an important part of the culture in South America, and across the continent, around 90% of people identify themselves as Christians. 82% of the continent’s population consider themselves to be Roman Catholic.

Large Cities

Five of the top 50 largest cities in the world are located in South America, and starting with the largest, these are Sao Paulo, Lima, Bogota, Rio, and Santiago.

12 Countries

South America comprises of 12 countries. There is a significant difference in terms of the wealth of the population in different countries on the continent.

Top 10 destinations in South America

  1. Bolivia
  2. Colombia
  3. Chile
  4. Peru
  5. Uruguay
  6. Brazil
  7. Suriname
  8. Ecuador
  9. Venezuela
  10. Argentina

Trending Places in South America…

Would You Like To Spend Your Next Vacation in South America?